ACBC & ANU Australia-China Decarbonisation Roundtable

3 sessions, 15 content experts and 1 global keynote discussing decarbonisation across Hydrogen, Ammonia, Renewables and Critical Minerals.

April china decarb

ACBC South Australia and the Australian National University present this roundtable that will draw out perspectives and explore possible collaboration between Australia and China on decarbonisation. Attendees will hear from leading industry, government and academic experts whose discussion will focus on hydrogen & ammonia, renewables, batteries & grid integration, and critical minerals and minerals processing.

This is the fourth in a series of national roundtable events on Australia-China links on low-carbon technology transitions sponsored by the National Foundation for Australia-China Relations. It is convened by ANU Crawford School of Public Policy in association with the ANU Grand Challenge Zero Carbon Energy for the Asia-Pacific initiative and the ANU Centre for China in the World.

Australia and China’s low-carbon transitions are deeply linked through their energy systems and value chains. Low-carbon transitions open opportunities to establish new energy, resource and processing industries in Australia, on the basis of resource endowments and industrial capabilities. It is critical for many Australian businesses, governments and other stakeholders to develop a deep understanding of China’s low-carbon transition.

Join our panel of experts to discuss existing and potential collaboration between Australia and China on hydrogen & ammonia, renewables, batteries & grid integration, and critical minerals and minerals processing.

This event will be live-streamed, however no recording will be available afterwards.

For more information, contact ACBC Net Zero Working Group Chair Anthony Coles,, or to receive future briefings and notices on future events in this series, sign up by sending an email to

ANU has developed a series of policy briefs on Australia-China’s links on low-carbon technology transitions to support the discussion in this workshop:


Session 1: Hydrogen and Ammonia (5 speakers + panel/ Q&A) 10.30am-12.00pm (ACST)

Dr Xunmin Ou - Associate Professor at the Institute of Energy, Environment and Economy, Tsinghua University.

Professor Paul Burke - Head of the Arndt-Corden Department of Economics and Deputy Director of the Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU.

Cynthia Yuan - Acting Director at the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade’s Green Economy Branch.

A/Professor Ma Linwei, PhD -Director of Tsinghua-Rio Tinto Joint Research Centre for Resources, Energy and Sustainable Development , Deputy Dean of the Institute of Low Carbon Economy, Director of Planning and Development of the Institute of Climate Change and Sustainable Development.

Yuyuan (Maggie) Song - Director, Secretariat of Green Partnership of Industrial Parks in China.

Session Moderator: Llewelyn Hughes, Professor, Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU.

Lunch - Keynote 12.30pm (ACST)

Nick Smith. President of the International Association for Hydrogen Safety (HySafe). Executive Director, Growth and Low Carbon Division with the Department for Energy and Mining , South Australian Government.

Session 2: Renewables, Batteries and Grid Integration (5 speakers + panel/ Q&A) 1.30pm-3.00pm (ACST)

Dr Jian Liu - Research Associate at the Energy Research Institute of the National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC)

Alix Ziebell- Engagement & Impact Lead, Battery Storage & Grid Integration Program ANU.

Chris Davies - AEMO’s Future Energy Systems

Meili Lin - Managing Director, CHINT Power/ Astronergy Solar Australia.

Lloyd Mao - Business Development Manager, Green Gold Energy

Session Moderator: Frank Jotzo, Professor, Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU

Session 3: Critical Minerals and Minerals Processing (5 speakers + panel/ Q&A) 3.30pm-5.00pm (ACST)

Raj Surendran - CEO Tianqi Lithium Australia

Felicity Lloyd - Chief Executive Officer of the Heavy Industry Low-carbon Transition Cooperative Research Centre (HILT CRC)

Renee Hakendorf, National Innovation Hub Lead, CORE Innovation Hub

Prof Michael Goodsite, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Energy Futures), Director of the Institute for Sustainability, Energy and Resources (ISER)

Dr Yanyan Zhao, Research Scientist Lithium Battery Recycling Technology, CSIRO .

Session Moderator: Anthony Coles, National Board member with the Australia China Business Council and Chair of Net Zero Working Group

Industry Partners